What is post-16 provision?

What is post-16 provision? What happens at college?

Table of Contents

Post-16 provision

By post 16 provision, we are referring to:

  • further education colleges
  • sixth form colleges
  • 16 – 19 academies, and
  • some independent specialist colleges.

This includes:

  • sixth forms (mainstream or special)
  • sixth form colleges
  • general further education colleges
  • 16 – 19 academies
  • special post 16 institutions, and
  • vocational learning and training providers.

Further education colleges, sixth form colleges, 16 – 19 academies and independent specialist colleges are under a duty to:

  • cooperate with the local authority on arrangements for children and young people with special educational needs
  • to admit a young person if that institution is named in their Education Health and Care plan
  • to have regard to the SEND Code of Practice
  • to use their best endeavours to secure the special educational provision that the young person needs (although this does not apply to independent specialist colleges or special schools by the very nature of their purpose. They must fulfil this duty of students with special educational needs whether not the student has an EHC plan).

If we can help in relation to your young person’s post-16 arrangements or if you have any questions about post-16 provision please contact us.