UK General Visit Visa

There are four kinds of visit visas.

• Standard
• Marriage/civil partnership
• Permitted paid engagements
• Transit visa
• Standard visa

A standard visit visa is also known as a visitor visa or tourist visa.

A tourist seeking to visit the UK must be able to show that

• s/he intends to leave the UK at the end of their visit;
• s/he can support themselves and any dependents;
• s/he has sufficient funds for their return journey.

A tourist visa allows the visitor to remain in the UK for up to 6 months. It cannot be extended beyond this. If it has been granted for less than six months it can be extended whilst the holder has valid leave.

Quick Links

Personal Immigration
UK Fiancé and Marriage Visas
UK Adult Dependent Visa
UK Spouse/Settlement Visa
UK Indefinite Leave to Remain
UK General Visit Visa
UK Family Visit Visa
UK Private Medical Treatment Visa
UK Permitted Paid Engagement Visa
Student Visa
UK Ancestry Visa

Business Immigration


Immigration Appeals

Free Enquiry Form